WARWICKSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of an Extraordinary Meeting of Warwickshire County Council held on 23 January 2007.

Present:

Councillor Chris Davis (Chair)

Councillors John Appleton, George Atkinson, Sarah Boad, David Booth, Ken Browne, John Burton, Les Caborn, Tom Cavanagh, Richard Chattaway, Alan Cockburn, Gordon Collett, Jose Compton, Jill Dill-Russell, Richard Dodd, Alan Farnell, Anne Forwood, Peter Fowler, Eithne Goode, Richard Grant, Colin Hayfield, John Haynes, Marion Haywood, Martin Heatley, Bob Hicks, Richard Hobbs, Richard Hyde, Mick Jones, Katherine King, Joan Lea, Bryan Levy, Barry Longden, Susan Main, Frank McCarney, Helen McCarthy, Phillip Morris-Jones, Brian Moss, Tim Naylor, Raj Randev, Jerry Roodhouse, John Ross, Chris Saint, Izzi Seccombe, Dave Shilton, Kam Singh, Mota Singh, Ian Smith, Mick Stanley, Bob Stevens, June Tandy, Heather Timms, Sid Tooth, John Vereker, C.B.E., John Wells and John Whitehouse.

1. General

(1) Apologies

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of councillors Peter Barnes, Michael Doody, Pat Henry, Bernard Kirton, Nina Knapman, Mike Perry, Dave Shilton and Ray Sweet.

(2) Members' Disclosures of Personal and Prejudicial Interests

District/borough memberships

The following councillors disclosed a personal interest as members of the district or borough council indicated.

North Warwickshire Borough Council

Councillors: Peter Fowler, Colin Hayfield, Joan Lea, Brian Moss, Mick Stanley and Sid Tooth.

Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council

Councillor John Ross.

Rugby Borough Council

Councillors: Tom Cavanagh, Gordon Collett, Richard Dodd, Jerry Roodhouse and Heather Timms.

Stratford on Avon District Council

Councillors: John Appleton, Richard Hobbs, Susan Main, Chris Saint, Izzi Seccombe and Bob Stevens.

Warwick District Council

Councillors: Les Caborn, Alan Cockburn, Jose Compton, Chris Davis, Michael Doody and Eithne Goode.

Other interests

Councillors Chris Saint and June Tandy declared personal interests as directors of CSWP Ltd.

(3) Chair's Announcements

The Chair announced that the Warwickshire Direct Partnership had won the e-Government National Award for Shared Services, for the work associated with the Customer Service Centre and the One Stop Shops. The Council congratulated all of those involved in the work.

2. Enhanced Two- Tier Working

The Council considered a report of the Chief Executive and the enclosed second draft of a proposal for Enhancing Two- Tier Working in Warwickshire.

A note of the decisions of Rugby Borough Council, Warwick District Council, North Warwickshire Borough Council and Stratford on Avon District Council was tabled (Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council had yet to formally consider the issue).

Councillor Alan Farnell proposed the following motion and was seconded by Councillor Bob Stevens:

- "(1) That the Council endorses the proposal for delivery of enhanced two tier working in Warwickshire for submission to the Government by 25 January 2007.
- (2) That the Council authorises the Chief Executive, in consultation with party leaders, to make any minor amendments to the submission."

Following a debate, the motion was put to the vote and was AGREED, the voting being 31 for and 24 abstentions.

voting being of for and 24 absternions.	
The meeting rose at 10.45 a.m.	
	Chair